Today's date: June 25, 2016

Top Stories
Ag Issues
Community News
Fulda 125th
Fulda Speech team takes third in Pipestone tournament

February 20, 2013

Speech team 
Speech team
by Karsten Piper, Fulda Speech Head Coach
The Fulda High School Speech Team took third place among all teams at the Pipestone Arrow Speech Tournament on Saturday, February 16. The Raiders finished with 74 points, just six behind second place Murray County Central, and eight behind winner Adrian. Seventeen schools competed in the tournament.

Freshman Sophia Spittle won in the Storytelling category, and sophomore Maddy Dibble won in Extemporaneous Speaking. This was the first-ever first-place finish for both speakers.

Other Fulda winners were sophomore Jeremy Welling (2nd in Creative Expression), sophomore Syd Cuperus (2nd in Humorous Interpretation), senior Carmen Olsem (2nd in Extemporaneous Reading), Mallory Pagel and Suzy Pagel (3rd in Dramatic Duo), Kalani Steinmetz (3rd in Creative expression), and Mallory Pagel (6th in Serious Poetry). Sophomore Laeela Steinmetz (Great Speeches) and 8th-grader Millie Piper (Serious Prose) won merit ribbons for placing just out of the top six in their categories.

Fulda’s other competitors in Pipestone included Olivia Baerenwald, Sariah Cheadle, Andrea Fuerstenberg, Kole Kramer, Matt Kunerth, Nicole Lang, Nicole Sauer, Jocelyn Schreier, Caitlin Strenge, Randi Tiesler, Claire Westra, and Courtney Zins.

Next up for the FHS Speech Team are the Tracy Jr. High Tournament on Thursday, February 21, and the Adrian Dragon Tournament on Saturday, March 2.

Coaches Karsten Piper and Debra Moe invite everyone to attend the Fulda Speech Showcase on Monday, March 25. Members of the team will perform for the public at Fulda High School. Randi Tiesler, Courtney Zins, Claire Westra, Sophia Spittle, Suzy Pagel, Olivia Baerenwald, Laeela Steinmetz. Millie Piper, Caitlin Strenge, Kalani Steinmetz, Nicole Sauer, Nicole Lang, Mallory Pagel and Carmen Olsem. Coach Karsten Piper, Jocelyn Schreier, Matt Kunerth, Kole Kramer, Jeremy Welling, Syd Cuperus, Andrea Fuerstenberg and Sariah Cheadle. Not pictured is Maddy Westra.

Click Here to Contact Us
©Fulda Free Press 2016