Today's date: July 1, 2016

Top Stories
Ag Issues
Community News
Fulda 125th
Top Stories
Murray County Medical Center First Designated as a Level 4 Trauma Hospital in 2007

March 26, 2014

Now earns redesignation as Level 4 Trauma Hospital
Slayton, MN - The Minnesota Department of Health recently redesignated Murray County Medical Center as a Level 4 trauma hospital. MCMC and staff voluntarily participated in the intense redesignation process to become part of Minnesota's statewide trauma system. The process included an outside review of the hospital's resources and capabilities to care for trauma patients. MCMC met standards of commitment, clinical and equipment resources and staff training. The hospital also participates in a continuous performance improvement process. “The Level 4 trauma redesignation is a tribute to the dedicated efforts of our trauma and medical personnel, the people most responsible for making it happen,” according to Lorrie Mortensen, Chief Nursing Officer. “Achieving the Level 4 status solidifies our staff's maintenance of high-quality, precise injury assessment, emergency services, stabilization, resuscitation, and patient transfer services.” Mortensen went on to say, “By using a multidisciplinary approach to trauma cases, team members from different departments immediately report to our Emergency Department. This measure adds strongly to the efficiency of our initial assessment and stabilization of the patient.” For a severely injured person, the time between sustaining an injury and receiving definitive care is the most important predictor of survival-the “golden hour.” The chance of survival diminishes with time; however, a trauma system enhances the chance of survival regardless of proximity to an urban trauma hospital. Mortensen noted that MCMC's adoption of this “team orientation” produces a more rapid transfer of patients to other care facilities when necessary. “Trauma is the third leading cause of death in Minnesota,” said Minnesota Commissioner of Health Dr. Edward Ehlinger. “The goal of the trauma system is to decrease injured patients' time to care by making sure their medical needs are appropriately matched with hospital resources. With the redesignation of MCMC as level 4 trauma hospital, we are getting closer to our goal of ensuring the seriously injured Minnesotans have access to an organized system of trauma care whenever they are in the state.” On average, trauma claims the lives of 2,400 Minnesotans annually. States with trauma systems have seen survival rates increased by 15 to 20 percent. Wide-scale participation in the voluntary trauma system ensures that a statewide, cooperative effort is in place to care for seriously injured patients. Minnesota began developing a comprehensive statewide trauma system in August of 2005. Through its redesignation MCMC recognizes the vital role that communities, ambulance services, hospitals and health care professionals play in the care and management of trauma patients. “Receiving our Trauma 4 redesignation reflects MCMC's commitment to superior trauma care in the region. The States expectation is that with each redesignation process the hospital's trauma program builds and improves on the previous designation. It is truly a great sense of accomplishment!” stated Barb Bergman, ED Manager.

Click Here to Contact Us
©Fulda Free Press 2016